we build the watches you dream

Pilo & Co, the independent Geneva watchmaker, established since its founding in 2001 in the Saint-Gervais district of Geneva, one of the historical birthplaces of Swiss watchmaking.

First watchmaker in Geneva

It was not until 1554, in other words around forty years later than the rest of Europe, that the people of Geneva discovered the watch when the first watchmaker set up business in the city. Thomas Bayard was referred to in the register of inhabitants as goldsmith and ‘orologeur’, and described therein as a refugee who had fled his country for religious reasons, among the thousands of others like him.

Geneva, before the watch, was already acquainted with clocks due to their presence on public or religious buildings. One example still exists today on the bell turret opposite the original facade of Saint-Pierre Cathedral, and another on the ‘Pont d’Isle’ in Saint-Gervais, the legendary district where the watchmaking brand Pilo & Co decided to put down its roots.

Amarildo Pilo, ‘the watchmaker of Saint-Gervais’, founder of the Pilo & Co Genève brand in 2001

On opening its first watchmaking store in the Saint-Gervais district, Pilo & Co took its place at the heart of Geneva’s watchmaking history. In response to its success, it opened a second watchmaking/jewellery store opposite the city’s Reformation Wall, and thereby resonated in tune with the industry’s primary values.

Before the watchmaker, there was the reputed goldsmith’s trade

Although watchmaking was a relative latecomer to Geneva, the city was already well known internationally for its goldsmith’s trade, first documented back in 1293. Thanks to the trade shows organised by the city, the works of Geneva’s goldsmiths became highly sought after by European court dignitaries and powerful figures of the era. With the Calvinist Reform, which advocated a return to essential values, luxury and extravagance were no longer fashionable. Under this stranglehold, many goldsmiths converted to watchmaking, conferring their exceptional skills upon the making of timepieces. On 20 January 1601, for the first time, the political authorities recognised this corporation of skilled craftsmen and approved the 'Ordonnances et règlements sur l’estat des orlogiers’. The quality-focused charter laid down the training conditions for the watchmaker’s trade, for which apprenticeship lasted five years, and the rules governing the exercising of the profession.

The watchmaking collections produced by Pilo & Co Genève are dedicated largely to expertise and versions embellished with personalised settings. They are totally in tune with the history and ethos of Geneva. Before the watchmaker there was the goldsmith. After the watchmaker there was a concentrated pool of skills and talents, a professional corporation entirely devoted to flawless quality and absolute precision.

‘La Fabrique’, a concentrated pool of expertise

It was not, however, until the mid-17th century that Geneva watchmaking prevailed over the goldsmith’s trade. The watchmaker’s corporation was highly organised and divided the craftsman’s work into specialisations. It was the first to allow women to carry on certain watchmaking trades. In a stand against the large factories, also known as ‘machinofactories’ (the term was used pejoratively), the people of Geneva used the term ‘La Fabrique’ from the early 18th century onwards to refer to all the independent businesses linked to watchmaking. Gradually, the term was to refer to the entire Geneva watchmaking sector until the end of the 19th century.

‘La Fabrique’ employed up to 5,000 people in 1800, in other words a fifth of the population. It especially favoured the nurturing of talent: from the lone watchmaker making his own timepieces, the industry expanded to incorporate several bodies of ‘cabinotiers’, or watchmaking-related trades specialising in case assembly, guilloche work, engraving, case-fitting, gilding or enamelling… Craftswomen made small watch chains and took care of polishing the movement parts or cases. Enamel painters and talented miniaturists launched the tradition of luxury watches.

The ‘cabinotiers’ forged themselves a solid reputation for the quality of their work, their punctiliousness and precision. They were envied and not considered workmen like any other industry. Together they formed a kind of ‘aristocracy of craftsmen’, being treated more like artists than manual workers. They were cultivated and avid readers.

Many cabinotiers had settled in the Saint-Gervais district of Geneva, Pilo & Co Genève also therefore chose to occupy this location steeped in strong historical significance. It all began here. It saw the start of the making of timepieces in the ‘cabinotier’ style, pieces that upheld the original ethos of ‘La Fabrique’: independence in the face of the large factories, the virtues of quality, the artistic and jewellery dimension. This enviable status has allowed it to express its creativity since its founding in 2001.

nike tn pas cher nike tn pas cher nike tn pas cher nike tn pas cher nike tn pas cher nike tn pas cher stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet stone island outlet uk stone island outlet uk stone island outlet uk stone island outlet uk stone island outlet uk max maillots max maillots max maillots max maillots max maillots outlet moose knuckles moose knuckle canada pop canvas art oil paintings stone island outlet stone island uk stone island outlet stone island

we build the watches you dream

Pilo & Co, marque genevoise indépendante installée depuis sa création en 2001 dans le quartier de Saint-Gervais à Genève, l’un des berceaux historiques de l’horlogerie suisse.

PREMIER HORLOGER À GENÈVE

Il faut attendre 1554, soit environ quarante ans après le reste de l’Europe, pour que les Genevois découvrent la montre, avec l’installation dans la Cité du premier horloger, Thomas Bayard, qualifié d’orfèvre et de «orologeur» par le registre des habitants. Il est enregistré comme réfugié, il a fui son pays pour cause de religion. Ils sont des milliers comme lui.

Genève, avant la montre, connaissait déjà les horloges, en raison de leur visibilité sur les édifices publics ou religieux. Il en subsiste une sur le clocheton en face de l’ancienne façade de Saint-Pierre, une autre sur le «Pont d’Isle» à Saint-Gervais, ce quartier mythique où la marque Pilo & Co s’est enracinée.

Amarildo Pilo, ‘l’horloger de Saint- Gervais’, fondateur en 2001 de la marque Pilo & Co Genève

En ouvrant son premier magasin horloger dans le quartier de Saint-Gervais, Pilo & Co s’installe dans le cœur de l’histoire horlogère genevoise. L’ouverture, pour faire face au succès, de sa deuxième horlogerie-joaillerie face au monument du Mur des Réformateurs, entre en résonance avec les valeurs horlogères premières.

AVANT L’HORLOGERIE, L’ORFÈVRERIE RÉPUTÉE

Si l’horlogerie a fait une arrivée assez tardive à Genève, la ville rayonnait avant sur le plan mondial par ses arts de l’orfèvrerie dont la première mention remonte à 1293. Grâce aux foires expositions organisées par la ville, les œuvres des orfèvres genevois étaient très recherchées par les dignitaires des cours européennes et par les puissants de l’époque. Avec la réforme calviniste qui prône un retour aux valeurs essentielles, le luxe et l’apparat ne sont plus à la mode. Sous cette contrainte, de nombreux orfèvres se convertiront à l’horlogerie, transmettant aux garde-temps leurs savoir-faire exceptionnels. Le 20 janvier 1601, pour la première fois, le pouvoir politique reconnaît cette corporation en approuvant les «Ordonnances et règlements sur l’estat des orlogiers». Cette charte déjà orientée qualité fixe les conditions de formation au métier d’horloger - l’apprentissage dure cinq ans - et les conditions d’exercice de la profession.

Les collections horlogères Pilo & Co Genève accordent une large part aux talents et aux versions personnalisables serties. Elles sont totalement en phase avec l’histoire et l’esprit de Genève. Avant l’horlogerie, l’orfèvrerie, Avec l’horlogerie, un concentré de talents et de savoir-faire, une corporation entièrement dédiée à la qualité irréprochable, à la précision absolue.

LA FABRIQUE, CONCENTRATION DE COMPETENCES

Ce n'est pourtant qu'au milieu du XVIIème siècle que l'horlogerie genevoise l'emporte sur l'orfèvrerie. Très organisée, la corporation divise le travail en spécialisations et est la première à permettre aux femmes d’exercer certains métiers horlogers. Par opposition aux grandes manufactures – appelées aussi les machinofactures, la terminologie n’avait alors rien de noble - les Genevois utilisent dès le début du XVIIIème siècle e terme «La Fabrique» pour désigner l’ensemble des entreprises indépendantes liées à l’horlogerie. Peu à peu, ce terme désigne l’ensemble du secteur horloger genevois jusqu’à la fin du XIXème siècle.

La Fabrique emploie en 1800 jusqu’à 5'000 personnes, un cinquième de la population. Elle favorise surtout l’essor des talents: de l’homme fabriquant seul sa montre, l’horlogerie se développe englobant divers corps de «cabinotiers», c’est-à-dire des métiers liés à l’horlogerie qui se spécialisent en monteurs de boîte, guillocheurs, ciseleurs, emboîteurs, doreurs, émailleurs… Des femmes se mettent à faire des chaînettes, à polir les pièces des mouvements ou des boîtes. Peintres sur émail, miniaturistes de talent inaugurent la tradition des montres de luxe.

Les «cabinotiers» se forgent une solide réputation par la qualité de leur travail, leur minutie et leur précision. Ils sont enviés et on ne les considère pas ouvriers comme les autres. Ils constituent une sorte d’ «aristocratie ouvrière», on les traite plus comme des artistes que des artisans. Ils sont cultivés, fervents lecteurs.

Parce que de nombreux cabinotiers s’étaient installés dans le quartier de Saint-Gervais à Genève, Pilo & Co Genève a choisi ce lieu habité par une charge historique puissante. C’est de là que tout est parti. Créer, à la manière des «Cabinotiers» des gardetemps qui s’inscrivent dans l’esprit originel de «La Fabrique»: indépendance face aux grandes usines, vertus de la qualité et dimension artistique et joaillière. Ce statut enviable lui permet d’exprimer sa créativité depuis ses débuts en 2001.